Like An Angel – A Father’s Day Special

 My Father

While the world slept,
My father stayed awake.
With all his might left,
He stayed just for my sake.

He sang to me,
Patted me to sleep.
I could feel his eyes on me
Watching me breathe.

I remember being in his arms,
On his lap as a baby
Holding him tight with my charms,
He’d say I was his little lady.

I grew up, I grew tall and I grew
Stronger, weaker, colder, warmer
There my father stood as he knew
I’m a handful, but I’ll always remain his loving daughter.

And I will be. My dearest Appa, I love you and I always will. Wishing you a very Happy Fathers’ Day! A huge thank you to my whole family for supporting me throughout my worst to the best.

 

Year after year, endless moments are dedicated to this question – “What do I get Appa for Father’s Day?” Many Father’s Days have gone by and our home now has a huge collection of clothes, DVDs, gadgets, etc, still leaving me with a blank mind this June.

 

My father, a simple and practical person, seems to have everything he needs at his reach; if he doesn’t – before you know it, he’s bought it. To think of a gift for such a person can be hard! Nevertheless, this year I really wanted to give my father something more than DVDs or clothes. I wanted it to have a meaning for him, so I chose a gift that plays a very powerful role in our lives every single day – music.

 

Back in 2007, I started to write my own songs for the first time. That time of my life has given me many experiences, lessons and strengths to stand on today, all thanks to my father who is also my Guru. We were in the song writing semester; a few months brought along many great new songs. For this blog, I’d like to tell you about one song in particular that my father and I wrote together – “Like An Angel”.

 

As a teenager I confided in my friends a lot more than my family. I guess that’s the common phase to go through, no? Still, I find that since that habit sunk in and I found myself growing closer to my father – purely because he just KNEW what was going on in my mind. I didn’t have to speak to him or cry to him about my problems, but he just knew how my thoughts were framed. He’d give me pep talks that made me really wonder – ‘how’ could he possibly know this? Well, I didn’t go searching for an answer but that much is true – my father just knows me. Maybe I’ll understand it better if and when I become a parent myself one day. In the meantime, I will be there for him through all the thick and thin, just like he’s been there for me. Like an angel.

 

My voice and my father’s violin come together on a track for the first time, which makes this song even more meaningful to me. The track is produced by my father with lush Indian strings by Bollywood Strings (www.bollywoodstrings.com). I’ve waited a long time to bring this song to the surface and to your ears, and felt it was the best thing to do for Father’s Day – to finally release it to the world and share the love I have for my father to every parent out there.

 

So here it is – the Father’s Day single “Like An Angel” – Available to download on iTunes, Amazon MP3, CDBaby, Rhapsody & Myspace Music. Or a direct link via CDBaby – http://www.cdbaby.com/cd/ambikajois1

 

I hope you enjoy it, with the lyrics –

Like An Angel

Day by day you could see
All that I claimed I want to be
You watched out for me
Kept me safe from the streets

I realised what I did to you
All that agony you went through
I realised how many times
You pulled me down cloud nine

I wish I could change the way I turned out to be
I wish I could be everything you were to me
Standing firm with your words
No matter how deep it hurts
Standing strong on your feet
Losing out on your sleep

Watching over me…

Day and night you worried
If I was still alive or dead
No matter how hard you tried
I never saw you cry

Smiling with a face shielding all your pain
Praying that I’d stop being so insane
Never did you give up on me
Thank you for showing me reality

I wish I could change the way I turned out to be
I wish I could be everything you were to me
Standing firm with your words
No matter how deep it hurts
Standing strong on your feet
Losing out on your sleep

Watching over me…
…Like an angel

One response to “Like An Angel – A Father’s Day Special”

  1. You just made me love my dad that much more with this blog. Parents really are angels, they give their love and care unconditionally.
    Struggling their whole life to make sure we have the best tools in life to move forward.
    Your poem really shows the depth of their unconditional love in whatever we do whether right or wrong.
    A great collaboration by a daughter and father. I hope your dad was touched by the lyrics and sweetness that you put into the song. God bless you two.

    Like

Leave a comment