*Ink*finitely Yours (HBD Hubby!)

First birthday of my husband’s since our wedding – May 10th 2017. I knew not what to get him that would make a gift for a birthday from a wife (for the first time) that would stand above the rest that were offered in the past. And so, I got a tattoo inked onto myself, with a design that marked ‘K’ (Kanna) and ‘S’ (Sellam) merged with the infinity symbol, marking the significance of what it meant in the poem below. This poem too, is a dedication to my dearest husband, Sutha Bala. I hope you like this one Kanna. I love you, Happy Birthday.

*INK*FINITELY YOURS

The world slept whilst I stayed awake
To the gentle breathing of your growing desire,
Dreams, expectations, assumptions and yearning,
All that it took to prepare your inner wildfire.

Each year you grew a layer of imagination
The current, more piquant than the one before
Expecting a reality not knowing what’s pseudo
To a mind that hadn’t quite risked much more.

You’ve now reached here – you’ve moved mountains
You’ve travelled far – though you’ve stayed aground
You’ve learned to give not knowing you had enough
You’ve given more than you knew you had in you

Nothing in this world can limit you
Grow into the dream you always envisioned
Become that dream you always wanted
I’ll be here, in mere attempt to be your inspiration.

Travel as far as you want
Fly as high too, beyond blue skies
I’ll be right with you, always
It’s my word until and beyond my demise

There will always be you where I am
There will always be me where you are
I, Sellam, promise you, my darling Kanna,
For infinity and beyond, we’ll be each other’s star.

Leave a comment