Downpour Epiphanies: Mastering Adaptability in Life’s Storms


I walked in the rain yesterday. First day back at work after a two week Easter break. Two weeks of almost summer weather. And then boom, like magic gone wrong, it rained this morning as I walked to work. And then sunshine all day long with a few bursts of hailstones. Sunshine until it was time for me to leave for home. Drenched all the way back.

I told myself, it’s rain. That’s all it is. If I were indoors, I’d have enjoyed the rain with a cup of tea. Out in the rain, I was getting cold and soaked. I still made it to work in good working condition.

The beauty of the rain is the same, depending on where we are. Some things are beautiful to look at, some things are uncomfortable to be in. Shifting a perspective and swapping it around can be a healthy strategy to strengthen adaptability.

Leave a comment